Before we go any further, B’s Kitchen is not owned or operated by the folks that owned Beez Eats.  We asked and they said no, they’re a different family…not that that’s a bad thing.

ConnieLou and I needed to get out and run some errands and decided to grab lunch while we were out.  We were initially leaning toward pizza when I remembered that I had read about a new place, B’s Kitchen, that had just opened on Highway 29, south of downtown Newnan.  Now normally we don’t usually rush to try a new place right after they open.  We like to give them a month or two to find their groove and get the kinks out.  For some reason we decided that we wanted to go ahead and give B’s a try.  It was a good call (that’s foreshadowing for the literary types that might be reading this).

We pulled into a parking space in front of the building and could see a few folks seated inside.  When we walked in, we saw that there were four socially distanced tables in the dining area.  Hopefully when Covid is in the rear view mirror and we get back to something resembling ‘normal’ they’ll be able to add a few tables.  I have a feeling that they’re going to need ‘em.

We studied the menu then placed our orders at the counter.  Connie chose the ‘Kobe’, a double bacon cheeseburger with a slice of cheddar, lettuce, and tomato with a side of fries.  Me, I had 10 wings, medium and a side of fries.

When our name was called, I went to pick up our order.  The server checked our orders with me to make sure everything was correct and went ahead and gave us a bag in case we had leftovers to take home.  We didn’t.

OK, lets start with ConnieLou’s cheeseburger…  The patties were cooked smash-burger style on a griddle then topped with cheese, bacon and the rest of the fixins.  Just on appearances I suspected it was going to be really good and according to ConnieLou, it was.  She was kind and gave me a couple of bites and I had to agree, it was darn good.

Now for my wings…  They weren’t super huge wings, nor were they scrawny and they were cooked just right…Goldilocks, if you will.  The wing sauce caught me a little sideways.  I first noticed that it wasn’t the typical buttery-red color that most wing sauces tend to be.  It was reddish but had a bit of a golden yellow tint to it.  As you might have guessed, the taste was different as well.  It definitely didn’t seem to be made with Tabasco or Crystal.  Some Franks maybe but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.  It seemed a little sweet, not a syrupy sweet but more of a habanero or datil pepper sweet but without the heat.  I finally realized that the flavor also reminded me a lot of a slightly sweet Carolina Gold-style barbeque sauce with some sort of pepper sauce mixed in.  I may be way off but I can tell you one thing, it was darn good…and so were the wings.

Now for the fries.  Anybody that’s read several entries to this blog should know that fries are a bit of a big deal to me.  Fries that were frozen and not fresh cut get an automatic deduction in my book.  If the Varsity and Five Guys can cook huge volumes of fresh cut fries day in and day out, any restaurant should be able to do it.  Frozen fries simply aren’t as good as well-cooked fresh cut fries.  Come on, try to change my mind.  It ain’t gonna happen.  Back to the fries.  B’s fries seemed to us to be fresh cut, maybe even spiral sliced then cut in half and cooked to golden perfection.  Add a shake of salt and serve ‘em hot and yeah, they were darn good (there seems to be darn good theme emerging here).

So how did B’s Kitchen fare on the Thumb’s Scale.  We gave them four thumbs up out of a possible four and maybe a couple of toes for really intriguing me with the wing sauce.  We’ll definitely be back.  Oh, by the way, they also serve breakfast.  If their biscuits are anywhere near as good as their offerings we got to taste today, I can see quite a few early morning trips down through downtown in the future.  Unfortunately I’m going to have to wait a couple of weeks for that.