Tags

, , , , , ,

Well, I just realized that I completely skipped most of 2021 and all of 2022.  Things happen.  Let’s get 2023 started off right.

Last week my co-worker Rose and I were in Conyers, Georgia for work.  We finished shortly after lunchtime and decided to grab some lunch before heading back to the office.  We started looking at GoogleMaps to see if there was anything that sounded good between our jobsite and the interstate.  We saw a handful of the typical fast food chains, none of which interested us all that much.  Then we noticed a marker for ‘La Morenita Mexican Food’, which sounded more interesting than anything else we’d seen so we decided to give it a try.

We followed the directions on the GoogleMaps app to a little out of the strip center off Highway 138.  We quickly saw that La Morenita was a little hole-in-the-wall kind of place, which to me, is a good sign.  When we walked in we saw that all of the staff was Hispanic, as were the remainder of the lunch patrons…another good sign.

We were seated right away and our server brought us menus and the customary chips and salsa.  We were hungry so we promptly dug into the chips while we checked out the menu.  I ordered arroz con pollo from the lunch menu and Rose went with a chicken tamale and plantains.  When our food arrived Rose had one of the biggest tamales that I’ve ever seen and a pair of plantains, and my arroz con pollo wasn’t exactly a skimpy plate.

So how did La Morenita fare on the Thumb’s Scale?  They easily earned four thumbs-up out of a possible four and we both threw in a few fingers and toes for good measure.  This was easily some of the best Mexican food I’ve had aside from a place ConnieLou and I visited in Phoenix several years ago.  Rose, who lived in Phoenix for a little while, agreed.  La Morenita will definitely get a return visit if I’m in the neighborhood.