I found Weber’s Little Donut Shop just by chance Saturday morning. I was on my to the canoe and kayak launch at the back end of St. Joe Bay to see if there were any fishing opportunities when I pulled off in the parking lot of the Trading post on CSB to take advantage of their free 24-hour wifi for a couple of minutes. While I was there I noticed a long line of people at this little ‘box’ that stuck out from the side of the building. After a minute I realized that person after person was leaving with a box of hot, fresh-made doughnuts. I needed to get moving but made a mental note that we needed to give it a try.

As it turns out, Weber’s Little Donut Shop is literally a mom & pop operation run by George and Betty Weber. They make their doughnuts fresh every morning and are open until they are sold out…usually between 8:00 and 10:00 a.m., depending on the season

When I got back to the condo I mentioned the place to ConnieLou and was promptly sent back to pick up a dozen. Unfortunately, by the time I got there they were sold out of doughnuts but had a few glazed croissants left. I almost passed on the croissants but decided to give them a try. With my purchase, George warned me that they were addictive…and he wasn’t kidding! They were absolutely fantastic, especially with a tall glass of cold milk.

So how did Weber’s fare on the Thumbs Scale? We gave it 8 thumbs-up out of a possible eight and added a few toes too. Weber’s might well be our best vacation discovery since we found Indian Pass Raw Bar a few years back. Yeah, we’ll definitely be back…

